Odour Talks 2022: Odour Exposure & Annoyance

   This year, Olores.org, the site that deals with Environmental odour management, is organising another edition of Odour talks on the 27th of October 2022. This course will be broadcasted online through our meeting platform for free, starting at 10 AM EDT (16:00 CEST).  Five experts will expose their points of view on how to account for Odour exposure and annoyance.

   The course will be an online open seminar followed by a round table and open discussion. The registration is open to any participant interested in Odour Impact, Exposure & annoyance.

register now   No organization or conference deals with the impact of odour on exposure and health. Many papers have been published in different journals over the years. However, to our knowledge, there is no specific forum to deal with the study of odour-related exposure and annoyance impact. This Odour Talks pretends to lay the foundation for initiatives on this topic.

   This time, the course will be held online through our webinar channel. This way, much more people will be able to attend the presentations, followed by a round table and open discussion. The Odour Talks are an excellent opportunity to learn more about odour exposure and annoyance from International experts:

   Kirsten Sucker is a psychologist who studies the effects of odours and irritants in ambient air, indoor environments, and the workplace since 1998, at the Research Institute for Prevention and Occupational Medicine of the German Social Accident Insurance, Institute of the Ruhr University Bochum (IPA).

   Hugo van Belois is an environmental engineer (Wageningen University) working in the Netherlands' odour/odour nuisance field for over 30 years. He has worked both in consultancy and with the government. For ten years his work has been as an independent consultant in the field of Air quality and a healthy living environment. 

   Jean-Michel Guillot is Professor at IMT Mines Alès, France. He has published over 150 papers in international journals, conference proceedings, and book chapters. He has been involved in almost any initiative related to managing odours in Europe. As an example, he represents France and AFNOR at the CEN level for the elaboration of standards for odour measurement.

   Susan Schiffman is a well-known expert with over 300 publications, some of them on odour and health issues. At the Department of Biomedical Engineering at University of North Carolina/North Carolina State University, her odour work is focused on landfills and hog farms. She is also chair of the IEEE working group developing standards for electronic nose technologies.

   Hanns Moshammer studied medicine and worked for the public health services before joining university and environmental health sciences in 2000. Because of his prior experiences and his current research, he is interested in the impact of all environmental stressors on health and well-being, including odours. From his work in administration, he is aware of the need to define limit values and set standards. 

   After all the interventions, participants will join a round table discussion coordinated by Ms. Kirsten Sucker. Check here the final program.

  The event will take place the 27th of October at 16:00 Bilbao Time. Check here for your local time/date.

Bilbao (Spain) - Thursday, 27th October 2022, 16:00:00 CEST (UTC+2 hours)
Bogota (Colombia) - Thursday, 27th October 2022, 9:00:00 COT (UTC-5 hours)
Jerusalem (Israel) - Thursday, 27th October 2022, 17:00:00 IDT (UTC+3 hours)
Lima (Peru) - Thursday, 27th October 2022, 9:00:00 PET (UTC-5 hours)
London (United Kingdom) - Thursday, 27th October 2022, 15:00:00 BST (UTC+1 hour)
New York (USA) - Thursday, 27th October 2022, 10:00:00 EDT (UTC-4 hours)
Santiago (Chile) - Thursday, 27th October 2022, 11:00:00 CLST (UTC-3 hours)
Sydney (Australia) - Friday, 28th October 2022, 01:00:00 AEDT (UTC+11 hours)
Tokyo (Japan) - Thursday, 27th October 2022, 23:00:00 JST (UTC+9 hours)

   Register for this event here.

   Contact us here if you are interested in this course and need extra information. 

 


   If you find this article interesting, you might also be interested in these articles:

 

All the content here under Creative Commons license